Michael Bennett

(Conceived and Originally Directed and Choreographed, Chorus Line) (1943–1987) was an American musical theatre director, writer, choreographer, and dancer. He won seven Tony Awards for his choreography and direction of Broadway shows and was nominated for an additional eleven. Bennett’s choreography credits include Henry, Sweet Henry; Promises, Promises; Coco; and Company. He directed and choreographed Follies, Seesaw and Ballroom, among several others. In 1976, he won the Tony Award for Best Direction of a Musical and the Tony Award for Best Choreography for A Chorus Line. Under the aegis of producer Joseph Papp, Bennett created A Chorus Line based on a workshop process which he pioneered. In 1982, Bennett directed and, with Michael Peters, co-choreographed Dreamgirls, winner of six Tony Awards, including Best Choreography.